Jerwood Contemporary Painters 2009

Jerwood Space, London
Project Space Leeds
Summerfield Gallery, Cheltenham
The Gallery at Norwich University College of the Arts

In 2009, the selection panel of Mali Morris (chair), Phillip Allen and Alexis Harding sourced artists from across the UK and Ireland inviting them to send firstly images of their work. 34 were then invited to bring their work to London and meet the panel.

26 artists were selected to take part in the final exhibition at Jerwood Space in April 2009.

"We started out by looking at hundreds of images - work by painters we already knew of, painters we were being told about, some discovered in shows, studios, art fairs, websites. The final selection came together months later, infront of a much smaller group the paintings which we had kept on returning to, intrigued and admiring."
- Mali Morris, Selector

Selected artists:
Lee Broughall, Carla Busuttil, Michael Cassidy, Paul Doran, Aidan Doherty, Aleanna Egan, Fergus Feehily, Alistair Frost, Andrew Graves, Geraldine Gliubislavich, Gabriel Hartley, William Monk, Ryan Mosley, Matt Musgrave, Scott O'Rourke, Jamie Partridge, Oliver Perkins, Emma Puntis, Robert Rush, Ellen Stanford, Alan Stanners, Paul Taylor, Phoebe Unwin, Mathew Weir, Sam Windett, David Webb

Related images

Lee Broughall 163 Do Not Obstruct


The Independent - reviewed by Michael Glover, Thursday 14 May 2009
BBC Leeds
IndieLondon by Lizzie Guilfoyle
Jazz Green A very late review

Other media

There are recordings from events that took place during the Jerwood Contemporary Painters 2009 exhibition:
1. Monday 11 May 2009 - Exhibition selector Alexis Harding in conversation with writer Martin Holman and artists from the exhibition.
2. Monday 18 May 2009 - The editors of Turps Banana discuss the exhibition, their magazine and issues raised about contemporary painting.